Stettler County council says tax penalties must be paid


Staff member
By Stu Salkeld, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

Stettler county council turned down four requests from property owners to waive penalties after their taxes were paid late. The decisions were made at the Dec. 8 regular meeting of council.
The written requests were presented to council by Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Yvette Cassidy and Tax Clerk Sharon Larsen.
All names were removed from the letters, so for the reader's benefit they’ll be referred to as letters #1 to #4, the same order they were dealt with by council.
Larsen noted only council has the authority through the Municipal Government Act (MGA) to waive taxes or penalties.
Letter #1 began, “I am writing to kindly ask for a bit of forgiveness due to my error of not making my property tax payment on time. In all honesty I just forgot to mail the payment...continued.

For full article click